A GRAMMY Salute to 50 Years of Hip-Hop DVD (2023 TV Special Featuring: Arrested Development, Big Daddy Kane, Cypress Hill, D-Nice, De La Soul, DJ Jazzy Jeff and the Fresh Prince REUNION, Doug E. Fresh, Kool DJ Red Alert, LL Cool J, MC Lyte, Monie Love, Nelly, Public Enemy, Queen Latifah, Rakim, Rick Ross and MORE!)


In stock

SKU: SKU-4134 Categories: , , , , , , , , , ,


A GRAMMY Salute To 50 Years Of Hip-Hop: This historic concert took place on Wednesday, November 8, 2023 at the YouTube theater in Hollywood Park in Inglewood, California. It would air just over a month later on December 10, 2023.

Description: The first flowers of the evening saluted the women of hip-hop during a roof-raising segment that included Queen Latifah, Monie Love, Spinderella, MC Lyte and Remy Ma, as well as rap touchstones such as Latifah and Love’s 1989 gem “Ladies First.”

Next up: a salute to hip-hop’s regional roots around the country, ranging from New York, Atlanta and Texas to Memphis, Miami and the West Coast. Among those repping for their regions were Jermaine Dupri, Jeezy, T.I., Boosie Badazz, Public Enemy’s Chuck D and Flavor Flav, E-40 and Warren G.

Chloe Bailey, Jennifer Hudson and Questlove, who also executive produced the special, were among the artists who introduced the various concert segments. D-Nice and Doug E. Fresh saluted the genre greats who are no longer here.

Performances by other trailblazing rap groups such as De La Soul, Arrested Development and Digable Planets. But by far, one of the buzziest and most anticipated performances of the evening was delivered by Will Smith and DJ Jazzy Jeff. In a full-circle moment, the pair reunited as DJ Jazzy Jeff & The Fresh Prince. They received the first-ever Grammy for best rap performance in 1989. However, the duo boycotted that year’s ceremony to protest the category presentation not being televised. Now, some 34 years later, Jeff and Smith proved what a missed opportunity that was as they reeled off several hits — including “Summertime,” “Gettin’ Jiggy Wit It,” “Miami” and the theme song for Smith’s ‘90s television series The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air — to audience screams and a sustained standing ovation.

Full Lineup List of Performers included below in alphabetical order are: 2 Chainz, Akon, Arrested Development, Battlecat, Big Daddy Kane, Black Sheep, Black Thought, Blaqbonez, Boosie Badazz, Bun B, Chance The Rapper, Coi LeRay, Common, Cypress Hill, D-Nice, De La Soul, Digable Planets, DJ Diamond Kuts, DJ Greg Street, DJ Jazzy Jeff and the Fresh Prince REUNION, DJ Quik, DJ Trauma, Doug E. Fresh, E-40, GloRilla, Gunna, J.J. Fad, Jeezy, Jermaine Dupri, Kool DJ Red Alert, The Lady of Rage, Latto, LL Cool J, Luniz, MC Lyte, MC Sha-Rock, Monie Love, Mustard, Nelly, The Pharcyde, Public Enemy, Queen Latifah, Questlove, Rakim, Remy Ma, Rick Ross, Roddy Ricch, Roxanne Shanté, Spinderella, Styles P, T.I., Talib Kweli, Three 6 Mafia, Too $hort, Tyga, Uncle Luke, Warren G, YG and Yo-Yo

TOTAL Running Time 1 Hour and 29 Minutes COMMERCIAL FREE


Additional information

Weight.25 lbs


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

You may also like…