ARETHA FRANKLIN: DUETS DVD (1993) Featuring: Elton John, Rod Stewart, Gloria Estefan, Bonnie Raitt, Smokey Robinson and MORE!


In stock


A chance to hear admirers including Elton John, Gloria Estefan, Smokey Robinson, PM Dawn, Bonnie Raitt and Rod Stewart sharing a stage with the Queen of Soul herself. The concert took place on the 27th of April 1993 at New York City’s Neederlander Theatre, as an AIDS benefit for GMHC. This concert special aired only once in America on May 9 1993 and also aired in the UK month later on September 7th 1993. It’s interesting to note that even though the advertisements included George Michael he was unfortunately not able to perform at this particular concert

Musically, she wisely stuck to doing her classic songs, avoiding any songs from her latest album at the time, “What You See Is What You Sweat” She also performed two Motown songs she’d never done before, “Just to See Her” and “This Old Heart of Mine.” This seems like the sort of thing that was designed for an official release, but not until now has it ever been released on DVD. Renowned actors Robert De Niro and Dustin Hoffman introduced a couple of segments as well. Elton, Smokey and Rod provide backing vocals on the first number, Chain of Fools to start things off

Track Listing

01 Chain of Fools (Aretha Franklin with Elton John, Smokey Robinson & Rod Stewart)
02 talk (Aretha Franklin & Elton John)
03 Border Song [Holy Moses] (Aretha Franklin & Elton John)
04 talk (Gloria Estefan)
05 Coming Out of the Dark (Aretha Franklin & Gloria Estefan)
06 talk (Smokey Robinson)
07 Just to See Her (Aretha Franklin & Smokey Robinson)
08 talk (Robert De Niro)
09 I Never Loved a Man [The Way I Love You] (Aretha Franklin)
10 Think (Aretha Franklin & P.M. Dawn)
11 talk (Bonnie Raitt)
12 Since You’ve Been Gone [Sweet Sweet Baby] (Aretha Franklin & Bonnie Raitt)
13 [You Make Me Feel Like] A Natural Woman (Aretha Franklin with Bonnie Raitt & Gloria Estefan)
14 talk (Rod Stewart)
15 This Old Heart of Mine (Aretha Franklin & Rod Stewart)
16 People Get Ready (Aretha Franklin & Rod Stewart)
17 Spirit in the Dark (Aretha Franklin & Elton John).

Featuring: Aretha Franklin, Candice Bergen, Robert De Niro, En Vogue, Gloria Estefan, Whoopi Goldberg
Dustin Hoffman, Lena Horne, Elton John, Bonnie Raitt, Smokey Robinson, Rod Stewart, P.M. Dawn & Isiah Thomas

The Band:

Leon Pendarvis (musical director)
Lou Marini (saxophone)
Alan Rubin (trumpet)


Total Running Time 59 Minutes 5 Seconds

Additional information

Weight.25 lbs


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

You may also like…