Fight the Power: How Hip Hop Changed the World 2 DVD Set (2022 DocuSeries – ALL 4 Parts) Featuring Chuck D, Grandmaster Caz, Ice-T, Roxanne Shanté, Run DMC, MC Lyte, B-Real (Cypress Hill), Melle Me and MORE!


In stock


Description: New Four-Part Series With Rap Icon Chuck D Explores Four Decades of Hip Hop History. Public Enemy’s Chuck D leads a cast of rap icons from Ice-T to Run DMC to tell the definitive story of how hip-hop grew from an underground movement into a global force for change. FIGHT THE POWER: HOW HIP HOP CHANGED THE WORLD recounts the origins of this bold and revolutionary art form through the voices of those who were there at the beginning, creating an anthology of how hip hop became a cultural phenomenon against the backdrop of American history. Weaving together interconnected moments via intimate interviews and archival footage, the docuseries will explore how hip hop quickly created a provocative narrative of America.

“The hip hop community has, from the start, been doing what the rest of media is only now catching up to,” said Chuck D. “Long before any conglomerate realized it was time to wake up, hip hop had been speaking out and telling truths. Chuck D and I look forward to working with them to take this account of such an important movement to the world,” said Lorrie Boula. “People are finally open to hearing and learning about the history of all Americans, and we want to deliver authentic, compelling and truthful stories to them.” “Hip hop is one of the most influential artistic genres and cultural movements of our time, and we’re thrilled to tell a deep and unflinching story with one of its originators and most powerful voices.”

The series features insightful interviews with hip hop luminaries including: Chuck D, Grandmaster Caz, Ice-T, Abiodun Oyewole (The Last Poets), Roxanne Shanté, RUN-DMC, John Forté,, MC Lyte, B-Real (Cypress Hill), Melle Mel, Fat Joe, Lupe Fiasco and more.


Episode 1: “The Foundation” Air Date 09/22/22: Discover the factors that led to the birth of Hip Hop and its first socially conscious hit The Message by Grandmaster Flash and the Furious Five in 1982. (44:03)

Episode 2: “Under Siege” 09/29/22: Explore the 1980s and the birth of Hip Hop as social commentary in the Reagan Era with the emergence of artists like Public Enemy, KRS-One, Ice-T, and NWA.  (43:43)

Episode 3: “Culture Wars” 10/21/22: Experience the 1990s during the Clinton years and the unstoppable rise in popularity of Hip Hop, which becomes a force that is attacked by all sides of the political establishment. (1:02:23)

Episode 4: “Still Fighting” 10/21/22: Follow the evolution of Hip Hop as its artists turn into multimillionaires and successful entrepreneurs. As a cultural phenomenon, Hip Hop continues to change history and is adopted as the voice of protest around the world. (43:46)

Total Running time: 3 Hours 57 Minutes

Additional information

Weight.50 lbs


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

You may also like…