NEIL DIAMOND Love At The Greek DVD (1976) (Remastered from LaserDisc to DVD)

(3 customer reviews)


In stock


Released exclusively on the long since discontinued and deleted formats of  VHS, LaserDisc and even Betamax in the Netherlands, this classic concert was released in only two countries on LaserDisc in UK and USA. This particular recording of this concert has NEVER been released on DVD until NOW!

This REMASTERED DVD is sourced directly from the original high quality LaserDisc to DVD for the first time ever! Quality is unmatched as it transferred from the long since deleted LaserDisc from OVER FORTY ONE years ago.

Background information: This concert was originally titled “Love at the Greek” in the USA. It was released on LaserDisc and would receive a re-release years later in 1992 in America which included a digitally remastered soundtrack. It’s important to note that this particular LaserDisc release had been Digitally Remastered For Optimum Sound Quality from analog to CX plus digital audio tracks. Features original uncompressed audio from the original LaserDisc soundtrack bringing true fidelity of the original live recording from 1976. This specific 1992 LaserDisc release is the ONLY release worldwide that included the digital remastered soundtrack. This exclusive remaster to DVD is sourced from that very same re-issued LaserDisc from 1992 in the USA.

In 2011, the concert was released on DVD with the title “Live at the Greek 1976”. The audio however while being converted to DVD was also compressed. Some audiophiles and sound purists argue that unless the remastering process includes completely “lossless” compression of audio that no matter how it may be converted/processed, it still is compressed audio thus producing some say a more audibly muddled sound. This is due to the lessening of the dynamic range between the loudest and quietest parts of the audio signal thus producing some distortion and a clipping audio effect. The DVD offered here is sourced from the LaserDisc that was re-issued with a digitally remastered soundtrack from back in 1992. Because of the large 12 inch size of the LaserDisc format it can easily support the amount of physical space required to successfully playback large uncompressed sound and in this case even digitally remastered in uncompressed form. This Remastered DVD  features the original completely uncompressed digitally remastered audio recording allowing the original true recorded mix to come alive as it was originally intended to be heard in optimum sound quality. This original mix featured with completely uncompressed audio is exclusively preserved here and available in it’s original intended state of production for the very first time on DVD.

Another original offer from your team at MVR!

Description: As a part of Neil Diamond’s “World Tour 76–77”, one concert was recorded live at the Greek Theater in Los Angeles, California on 16th of September 1976. The world famous superstar shown here in a landmark live performance! This was Diamond’s second live recorded release  and Neil’s second album produced by Robbie Robertson of The Band (the first being 1976’s Beautiful Noise).

This album was released in conjunction with a television special broadcast of the concert footage that aired in the United States on February 21, 1977. The television special, broadcast on NBC (and simulcast on FM stations nationwide) was also titled “Love At The Greek.” The special was nominated for four Emmy Awards. This 1977 television special was also later released as a VHS Video Tape.

This vintage concert was recorded Live at the Greek Theater in Los Angeles, California on 16th of September 1976.


1. Introduction by the man himself Neil Diamond looking straight at the camera discussing performing life and what it takes to really connect with an audience whilst sitting in an empty theater at the Greek earlier in the evening prior to the concert.
2. Cherry Cherry
3. Sweet Caroline
4. Play Me
5. Beautiful Noise
6. Street Life
7. Lady Oh
8. If You Know What I Mean
9. Song Sung Blue
10. Cracklin’ Rosie
11. Holly Holy
12. I Am… I Said


13. Brother Love’s Traveling Salvation Show
14. I’ve Been This Way Before

Total Running Time: 52 Minutes

The Band “World Tour 76–77”:

Reinie Press – bass guitar
Dennis St. John – drums
Doug Rhone – guitar
Richard Bennett – guitar
Alan Lindgren – keyboards
Tom Hensley – keyboards
King Errison – percussion
Linda Press – vocals
Neil Diamond – vocals, guitar

Sourced courtesy of Jmac

Additional information

Weight.25 lbs

3 reviews for NEIL DIAMOND Love At The Greek DVD (1976) (Remastered from LaserDisc to DVD)

  1. dunnrite (verified owner)

    I can’t believe I found “Neil Diamond Love at the Greek” on DVD. As described, “This Live Concert” has been lovingly remastered from Laser Disc to DVD. This MVR remastered “Love at the Greek” DVD is way better than my as new VHS Tape of the same concert. In my opinion this concert is as near as we will ever get to having ‘any images’ of the original Hot August Night, starting with the same venue. The passion from Neil Diamond at Love at the Greek is missing on his other recorded live performances, in my opinion. An irony is, my wife would not go and see Neil Diamond when he came to NZ at around the same time – because I would not take her to the Helen Reddy concert. Helen sings with Neil on Love at the Greek, as does the Fonz!
    Thank you to the Team @ MVR!

  2. Kakimochi (verified owner)

    Love Neil Diamond, loved this concert, so I tried to get a decent copy of this DVD. Searched the internet and found this site ( In less than a week after I ordered the DVD, it was in my mailbox. Music Video Resource’s site has a thorough description of the product, they keep you posted about the order, they respond quickly to any questions, they are the best! I only regret not knowing about them a long time ago. BTW, the Neil Diamond DVD was also the best!

  3. Kevin Wright (verified owner)

    I cannot believe I have finally found this on DVD after years of searching and is absolutely brill!
    I believe this is the only website that has it as I’ve searched others for year; 10/10

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

You may also like…