ryuichi sakamoto sweet revenge tour (1994) (Remastered from LaserDisc to DVD) with BONUS Music Videos – Featuring various artists including Holly Johnson of Frankie Goes To Hollywood and David Sylvian (Y.M.O. Yellow Magic Orchestra)


In stock


Released exclusively on the long since discontinued and deleted formats of VHS, VHD and LaserDisc. With the exception of a limited release on DVD in Japan only OVER 20 years ago, the following has NEVER been REMASTERED and released on DVD until NOW!

This REMASTERED DVD is sourced directly from the original high quality LaserDisc and remastered to DVD for the first time ever! Quality is unmatched as it transferred from the long since deleted LaserDisc Master from nearly THIRTY years ago.

Background: The concert was issued on the VHS and LasderDisc format in ONLY exclusively in Japan. The Original Japanese release on LaserDisc was sourced for the  REMASTERING of this DVD. Even now the LaserDisc of this rare concert is offered used for as much as $50.00. Not since over 20 years ago in 2003 has this rare concert Japan import only has ever been released in ANY COUNTRY on DVD other than Japan until NOW! So here, offered in the best possible quality, available for the first time ever in the USA since 2003 is the REMASTERED from LaserDisc to DVD for all you Sakamoto and Y.M.O. devotees!

Description: This concert very advanced for time using mixed media via pre-recorded performances as well as music videos combined with live performances. The guest vocals that you see in the credits for this track listing include artists such as Holly Johnson who appear via music video while Ryuichi Sakamoto and his band play live to their recorded footage and in some cases music videos of various artists that he’s collaborated with.

DVD Menu divides content as “Side 1” and “Side 2” to mimic the content style of the original LaserDisc

Recorded live at Nippon Budokan, Oct 7, 1994

Side 1

1. Moving On Lyrics By – J-Me Music By Ryuichi Sakamoto
2. 二人の果て (“The End of Two”) *
3. Regret Lyrics By – J-Me Music By Ryuichi Sakamoto
4. Pounding At My Heart Lyrics By Paul Alexander Music By Ryuichi Sakamoto
5. Love And Hate Lyrics By Holly Johnson (Frankie Goes To Hollywood) Music By Ryuichi Sakamoto
6. Sweet Revenge Music By Ryuichi Sakamoto
7. Anna *
8. Psychedelic Afternoon Lyrics By David Byrne (Talking Heads) Music By Ryuichi Sakamoto

Side 2

9. Merry Christmas Mr. Lawrence Music By Ryuichi Sakamoto (Movie Soundtrack)
10. M.A.Y. In The Backyard Music By Ryuichi Sakamoto
11. Triste Lyrics By FFF, Marco Prince, Ryuichi Sakamoto Music By Ryuichi Sakamoto
12. We Love You Music By, Lyrics By Jagger-Richards
13. Sheltering Sky *
14. Heartbeat Lyrics By Jeffrey Cohen Music By Ryuichi Sakamoto
15. 7 Seconds *

“*” refers to songs NOT included in the live CD release of this concert

Running Time: 1 Hour 27 Minutes

The Band:

Piano – Ryuichi Sakamoto
Vocals – Hiroshi Takano, Ryuichi Sakamoto, Valtinho, Vivian Sessoms
Vocals [Sampled] – Arto Lindsay (tracks: 7), Holly Johnson (tracks: 5), J-Me (tracks: 1, 3), Latasha Natasha Diggs (tracks: 1, 3), Marco Prince (tracks: 10), Miki Imai (tracks: 2), Paul Alexander (tracks: 4, 7)
Bass – Chris Minh Doky
Guitar – Hiroshi Takano
Percussion – Valtinho
Keyboards – Ryuichi Sakamoto, Toshihiko Mori
Computer – Ryuichi Sakamoto
Violin – Everton Nelson


Recorded By – Yoshifumi Iio
Mixed By – Yoshifumi Iio
Producer – Ryuichi Sakamoto
Executive Producer – Yutaka Goto


Music Videos

1. David Sylvian & Ryuichi Sakamoto: Bamboo Music
2. David Sylvian & Ryuichi Sakamoto: Forbidden Colours
3. David Sylvian with Steve Jansen and Ryuichi Sakamoto: Orpheus
4. David Sylvian & Ryuichi Sakamoto: Heartbeat (Tanai Kaiki II)
5. Holly Johnson with Ryuichi Sakamoto Love and Hate (1994)

Total Running Time: 1 Hour 51 Minutes

Additional information

Weight.25 lbs


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

You may also like…