San Francisco SOUNDS A PLACE IN TIME 2 DVD Set (Docuseries Parts 1 and 2) Features: Peter Coyote, Bob Dylan, Janis Joplin, Grateful Dead, Jimi Hendrix, Creedence Clearwater Revival, Jefferson Airplane and MORE!


In stock

SKU: SKU-4113 Categories: , , , , ,


This two-part docuseries celebrates the musical and artistic renaissance that exploded in the Bay Area from the mid-sixties into the mid-seventies between 1965 to 1975 framed by Monterey Pop, Altamont, Woodstock and The Last Waltz. Featuring the music of Jefferson Airplane, Janis Joplin, the Grateful Dead, Steve Miller along with Jimi Hendrix, Creedence Clearwater Revival, Otis Redding, Sly and the Family Stone, Big Brother and the Holding Company, Santana, Moby Grape and many more. The film captures the “creative explosion in San Francisco that catalyzed and solidified a national movement for a whole generation,” which included “the emergence of growing-breaking live music impresario, Bill Graham, and seminal festivals—Monterey Pop, Altamont, and Woodstock.”

San Francisco Sounds: A Place In Time, examines this decade that propelled Bay Area musicians into the national scene.

The documentary is directed by Alison Ellwood and Anoosh Tertzakian, and comes from the same team behind the three-time Emmy-nominated documentary Laurel Canyon: A Place in Time 2 DVD Set. Also available on DVD: Mr. A & Mr. M: The Story of A&M Records DVD (Docuseries Parts 1 and 2) SOMETIMES WHEN WE TOUCH 2 DVD Set The Reign, The Ruin and Resurrection of Soft Rock and If I Leave Here Tomorrow: A Film About Lynyrd Skynyrd DVD (2018 Documentary)

Episode 1 Air Date August 20th 2023: In free-thinking San Francisco of the ’60s, bands form that change the landscape of music forever: Jefferson Airplane, Big Brother and the Holding Company, Janis Joplin, Country Joe and The Fish, Steve Miller, the Grateful Dead, and countless others.

Running Time 1 Hour 12 Minutes

Episode 2 Air Date August 27th 2023: Santana, Sly and the Family Stone, Tower of Power, and the Doobie Brothers further diversify the landscape; Woodstock puts San Francisco artists on the world stage; despite a series of tragedies that strike the community, the music keeps on going.

Running Time 1 Hour 15 Minutes

Featuring: Peter Coyote, Bob Dylan, Janis Joplin, Jerry Garcia, Grace Slick, Bill Graham, Bob Weir, Sly Stone, Marty Balin, Country Joe McDonald, Paul Kantner, Jorma Kaukonen, Ben Fong Torres, Jack Casady, David Freiberg, Patrick Simmons, Chet Helms, Jerry Miller, Sam Andrew, Peter Albin, Alton Kelley, Bill Ham, James Gurley, Stanley Mouse, Dave Getz, George Hunter, Lucy Lewis, Steve Miller, Victor Centeno Moscoso, Richard Olsen, Don Stevenson, Dusty Street, Jimi Hendrix (archive footage), Creedence Clearwater Revival (archive footage), Otis Redding (archive footage), Jefferson Airplane (archive footage) Grateful Dead, Sly and the Family Stone (archive footage), Santana (archive footage), Big Brother and the Holding Company (archive footage) Moby Grape (archive footage)

Total Running time for Episodes 1 & 2:  2 Hours 27 Minutes

Sound is Dolby 2.0 Digital Stereo

Additional information

Weight.45 lbs


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

You may also like…